A New Chopin
Daniil Trifonov & Mikhail Pletnev
Director: Christian Berger
Distributor: C Major Entertainment
Length: 52 min.
16:9 shot in HD-Cam
© 2017, a BFMI co-production with ZDF in collaboration with Arte, DW and Deutsche Grammophon
It is one of the most fas­cinating classical record­ings of the year 2017: Daniil Trifonov's interpretation of the Chopin piano concertos togeth­er with the Mahler Chamber Or­chestra under the guid­ance of Mikhail Pletnev. Trifonov and Pletnev are both Russians, pian­ists and composers.

For all these communalities, they are quite differ­ent person­alities. Trifonov be­longs to the crowd of high­ly ta­l­ented and cel­ebrated young pian­ists who has won nu­mer­ous com­pe­titions and gives more than 100 concerts a year. In con­trast, the Grammy-award-winner Pletnev is known for his intel­lectual grasp of mu­sical language who might come across a lit­tle bit dis­tant.
It is a remarkable proof of trust for the young pian­ist, that Pletnev offers his re-or­chestration of the two concertos for Trifonov’s solo record­ing. This collab­oration is likely to be an artis­tic exploration at the high­est stage and consequently, the mu­sic doc­u­mentary „A New Chopin“ takes viewers on a the rare tour of the artis­tic process.
Frédéric Chopin
Piano Concerto N. 1 in E minor, Op. 11
Piano Concerto N. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

Arrangement by Mikhail Pletnev
Music Publisher: Compofactur / Matthias Spindler

Daniil Trifonov, piano
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mikail Pletnev, conductor