Yuja Wang
The Vienna Recital
Director: Bernhard Fleischer
Length: 98 min.
© 2022, a BFMI production for Deutsche Grammophon
Few pianists are as exciting in concert as Yuja Wang, and the pianist is especially compelling when she embarks on a voyage of discovery through the pianistic repertoire as in this recital from Vienna's Konzerthaus.

Schoenberg's Piano Suite is among his earlier 12-tone works, with echoes of Viennese classicism, while Beethoven is represented in the in the form of his Piano Sonata No. 18; Scriabin comes in the guise of the harmonically – and psychologically – complex Third Sonata; a dash of Spanish colour comes courtesy of Albéniz; and from Nikolai Kapustin comes Jazz-soaked virtuosity. An extended selection of encores culminates in one of the most beautiful melodies in the history of music, Gluck's, from his opera Orfeo ed Euridice.

Isaac Albéniz

Alexander Scriabin
Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Sharp Minor, Op. 23

Nikolai Kapustin
Prélude Op. 53/11
Prélude Op. 53/10

Isaac Albéniz

Arnold Schoenberg
Suite for Piano, Op. 25

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata No. 18 in E Flat Major, Op. 31 No. 3

György Ligeti
Automne à Varsovie. Étude No. 6
L’escalier du diable. Ètude No. 13

Philip Glass
Ètude No. 6

Arturo Márquez
Danzón No. 2

Johannes Brahms
3. Intermezzo in C Sharp Minor, Op. 117

Christoph Willibald Gluck
Melodie Dell’ Orfeo