Paavo Järvi & Dt. Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
The Beethoven Symphony Cycle
Director: Christian K. Weiß
Distributor: C Major Entertainment
Length: approx. 350 min.
16:9 shot in 1080i HD | stereo & 5.1 surround sound
© 2009, a BFMI production for Deutsche Welle TV
in coproduction with Unitel and NHK
From the 2009 Beeth­oven Fest­iv­al Bonn

Ac­cord­ing to Paavo Järvi Beeth­oven’s com­pos­i­tion of his nine sym­phon­ies can be com­pared to scal­ing a moun­tain. Beeth­oven opened the gate to mu­sic­al ro­man­ti­cism the world over and was also the first com­poser who came to pub­lic at­ten­tion as a freel­ance artist. Every sym­phony is part of a great de­vel­op­ment; every one has its own face.

The en­tire sym­phony cycle is per­formed by the Deutsche Kam­merphil­har­monie Bre­men, which has been a reg­u­lar per­former at the Bonn Beeth­oven Fest­iv­al for many years. The audi­ence will be presen­ted with a bold re­volu­tion­ary in­ter­pret­a­tion that also al­lows a cross ref­er­ence to be made to two of the com­poser’s sig­ni­fic­ant con­cer­tos:

The Con­certo for pi­ano, vi­ol­in, cello and or­ches­tra in C ma­jor op. 56 (»Triple Con­certo«) and The Con­certo for pi­ano and or­ches­tra No. 1 C ma­jor op. 15.

The or­ches­tra has been hon­oured by the New York Times. It won The Ger­man Re­cord Crit­ics' Award 2007 for its re­cord­ing of Beeth­oven’s Sym­phon­ies Nos 3 and 8. It was also hon­oured by lead­ing Ja­pan­ese crit­ics in ist list of the Top Five Clas­sic­al Con­certs of the year 2006.

Paavo Järvi, con­duct­or
Kam­merphil­har­monie Bre­men
Deutscher Kam­mer­chor

Chris­ti­an Tet­zlaff, vi­ol­in
Tanja Tet­zlaff, cello
Lars Vo­gt, pi­ano
Elisa­beth Le­on­skaja, pi­ano
Chris­ti­ane Oelze, sop­rano
An­nely Peebo, mezzo-sop­rano
Si­mon O’Neill, ten­or
Di­et­rich Henschel, bari­tone
Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik
Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik
Bestenliste 1-2011
Category: DVD-Video-Produktionen
This ul­ti­mate Beeth­oven Sym­phony Cycle comes to­geth­er with the fea­ture length doc­u­ment­ary “The Beeth­oven Pro­ject“ by Chris­ti­an Ber­ger who ex­plores the meas­ure­less di­men­siones of this bold ven­ture.
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 & Das Beethoven Projekt, DVD
buy now DVD
Beeth­oven Sym­phony Cycle
+ The Beeth­oven Pro­ject
Paavo Järvi: Beethoven Sinfonien 1-4, DVD
buy now DVD
Beeth­oven Sym­phonies
No. 1-4
Paavo Järvi: Beethoven Sinfonien 5-8, DVD
buy now DVD
Beeth­oven Sym­phonies
No. 5-8
Paavo Järvi: Beethoven Sinfonie 9, DVD
buy now DVD
Beeth­oven Sym­phony
No. 9