New Year’s Concert 2019
Bläserphilharmonie Mozarteum Salzburg
Director: Hans Hadulla
Distributor: C Major Entertainment
Length: 110 mins.
16:9 shot in 1080i HD | 5.1 surround sound
© 2019, a BFMI production for Bläserphilharmonie Mozarteum Salzburg in co-production with Unitel & ORF
The symphonic wind orchestra welcomes 2019 with its traditional New Year’s Concert on Jannuary 6th in the Felsenreitschule. This year’s concert’s theme “Sound of the Danubian Monarchy”( “Klang der Donau­monarchie”) stands for wind music of the highest standard, which is synonymous with the Bläserphilharmonie Mozarteum Salzburg.

The repertoire includes waltzes, marches, czardas, polkas, and mazurkas – musical styles from around the Austrian-Hungarian empire which reflect a special kind of multinational identity. The programme also features a percussion concert by the Vienna Philharmonic Bruno Hartl and the world’s leading percussionist Martin Grubinger, “a master of the high-speed chase” (New York Times).

Concerts by the Bläserphilharmonie Mozarteum Salzburg are highly and regularly acclaimed by the public and critics as listening and sound experiences of a special kind – not least thanks to the typical characteristic features and sound aesthetics evolved by principal conductor Hansjörg Angerer who plans and presents the programmes.

The orchestra, which is made up of graduates of the Mozarteum University in Salzburg, as well as select instrumentalists from a great variety of renowned orchestras from 25 countries, such as the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Sächsiche Staatskapelle Dresden, the Camerata Salzburg, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, the RSO Wien, the RSO Berlin, the Bayerisches Staatsorchester München, the Münchner Philharmoniker, the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the Orchester der Staatsoper Berlin, the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra and many more.
Carl Michael Ziehrer
Der Zauber der Montur - March from the operetta
Die Landstreicher, Op.493

Joseph Lanner
Die Mozartisten – Waltz, Op.196

Josef Strauss
Arm in Arm – Polka-mazurka, Op.215

Franz von Suppé
Pique Dame, Overture

With excerpts of:
Dmitri Shostakovich / Jesse Sieff
String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op.110 / Solo for Marching Snare Drum
Friedrich Cerha
Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra, 3rd movement
Avner Dorman
Frozen Time, 1st movement
Casey Cangelosi
Bad touch (for percussion and playback)
John Corigliano
Conjurer, 3rd movement
Michel Camilo
One More Once – Salsa
Keiko Abe
Prism Rhapsody for marimba and orchestra

Julius Fučik
Winterstürme – Waltz, Op.184

Josef Hellmesberger, jun.
Unter vier Augen – Polka mazur, Op.15

Bedřich Smetana
Tanz der Komödianten – from the opera
Die verkaufte Braut

Johannes Brahms
Hungarian Dance, No. 1 in G minor

Johann Strauss II (the younger)
Czárdas – from the opera
Ritter Pásmán

An der schönen blauen Donau – Waltz, Op.314

Éljen a Magyar – Polka, Op.332

Johann Strauss I (the elder)
Radetzky Marsch . Op.228

Arrangements for symhonic winds by Albert Schwarzmann

Bläserphilharmonie Mozarteum Salzburg
Martin Grubinger, percussion
Hansjörg Angerer, conductor