LA Phil Live
Dudamel Conducts Brahms
Director: Michael Beyer
Distributor: Los Angeles Philharmonic Association
Length: 150 min.
16:9 shot in 1080i HD | stereo & 5.1 surround sound
© 2011, a BFMI production for Los Angeles Philharmonic Association
The fi­nal HD broad­cast of the series LA Phil LIVE for the 2010/2011 sea­son was hos­ted by award-win­ning act­or John Lithgow on Sunday, June 5 at 2 p.m. Pa­cific / 5 p.m. East­ern. It was also the fi­nal con­cert in the cur­rent Los Angeles Phil­har­mon­ic sea­son. The pro­gram con­sisted of Brahms’ last con­certo fol­lowed by his last sym­phony: the Brahms’ Con­certo For Vi­ol­in, Cello and Or­ches­tra in A minor and his Sym­phony No. 4.
Cel­list Gau­ti­er Capuçon and his older broth­er, vi­ol­in­ist Renaud Capuçon joined Du­damel and the or­ches­tra as so­loists in the Double Con­certo. They lit up the place. In the dra­mat­ic and power­ful Sym­phony No. 4, power and beauty can be heard throughout the mu­sic from the tra­gic first move­ment, through the re­quiem-like second move­ment, sur­pris­ingly joy­ful third, to the cli­mactic fi­nal chords of the force­ful last move­ment. Brahms was at his most dra­mat­ic and pas­sion­ate when he com­posed his last sym­phony.
Jo­hannes Brahms
Con­certo For Vi­ol­in, Cello And Or­ches­tra In A Minor, Op. 102

Pas­sacaglia for Vi­ol­in and Vi­ola (en­core)

Jo­hannes Brahms
Sym­phony No. 4

Jo­hannes Brahms
Hun­gari­an Dance No. 5. (en­core)