Jan Lisiecki & New York Philharmonic
2022 Usedom Music Festival
Director: Michael Beyer
Length: 81 min.
© 2022, a BFMI production for The Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York, Inc. in collaboration with Podium derOstsee | Usedomer Musikfestival
The Peenemünde Concerts are celebrating their 20th anniversary with a star-studded line-up: the world-class orchestra New York Philharmonic has travelled to Usedom under the direction of its chief conductor Jaap van Zweden, giving the opening concert together with Jan Lisiecki in a sold-out hall.

The Canadian pianist with Polish roots is already one of the greatest pianists of our time. This opening concert is commemorating the victims of war and violence at the historic Peenemünde power plant where Nazis developed the first ballistic missiles. Today the musicians hope to send a signal of freedom, peace and diversity. For Jan Lisiecki it is important to to send a message of peace with his music: “What we do here can’t change what’s happening in the world, but it can change how we feel and what we feel in our hearts.”

It’s the orchestra’s first tour abroad since the long pandemic break starting in 2019. Of all places that symbolizes death and destruction. “We are extremely excited to in this – I would say – historic place. And the Germans they… I think they turned this place to something very, very positive. And we feel that vibe. It’s fantastic!” – Jaap van Zweden. Founded in 1842, the New York Philharmonic is the oldest orchestra in the United State and one of the world’s best.

The Baltic Sea Philharmonic is a unique orchestra that brings together musicians from Nordic European countries. For the musicians of the Baltic Sea Philharmonic, who are drawn from across all the sections of the orchestra, playing ‘Side by Side’ with the New York Philharmonic marks the Baltic Sea Philharmonic’s first rehearsal and performance collaboration with such a world-class ensemble.

Nina Shekhar

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto in E-flat major, Op. 73
“Emperor Concerto”

Frédéric Chopin
Nocturne in C-Sharp Minor, Op. Posth.

Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 9 in E-flat Major , Op. 70

New York Philharmonic
Jaap van Zweden, conductor

Jan Lisiecki, piano

Musicians from the
Baltic Sea Philharmonic
playing ‘Side by Side’ with the New York Philharmonic