From the New World
Andris Nelsons Conducts the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Director: Agnes Méth
Distributor: C Major Entertainment
Length: 95 min.
16:9 shot HD | 5.1 surround sound
© 2010, a BFMI production for UNITEL in co-production with BR
An­dris Nel­sons, one of the most sought-after young con­duct­ors on the in­ter­na­tion­al scene today, con­ducts the Bav­ari­an Ra­dio Sym­phony Or­ches­tra (Ger­man Sym­phonieorchester des Bay­erischen Rund­funks), one of the most of­ten-re­cor­ded en­sembles in the world. The con­cert takes place in the stun­ning Herkules Hall of the Mu­nich Res­id­enz.
The pro­gramme, per­formed by An­dris Nel­sons and the Sym­phonieorchester, is just vari­colored as it is fas­cin­at­ing: works by Amer­ic­an com­posers like Charles Ives and John Adams are heard along with Ant­on­in Dvorák’s ‘New World’ Sym­phony and Ig­or Strav­in­sky’s ‘Le chant du rossign­ol’. Dvorák’s work is said to be one of the first im­port­ant sym­phon­ies writ­ten in the USA. Straw­in­sky’s Rossign­ol was the in­spir­a­tion for Adam’s com­pos­i­tion. A thrill­ing Amer­ic­an Even­ing’ par ex­cel­lence!
Charles Ives
The Un­answered Ques­tion

John Adams
Slon­im­sky‘s Ear­box

Ig­or Strav­in­sky
Le chant du rossign­ol

Ant­onín Dvorák
Sym­phony No. 9 E minor, Op. 95 "From the New World"