Anne-Sophie Mutter
Mozart Violin Sonatas
Director: Christian K. Weiß
Length: approx. 5 hours in total
16:9 shot in HD 25P / stereo & 5.1 surround sound
© 2006, a production of BR & Unitel
The "Vi­ol­in Son­atas" com­plete the Moz­art tri­logy pro­ject which the ex­cep­tion­al vi­ol­in­ist Anne-Soph­ie Mut­ter un­der­took in 2006 to mark the 250th an­niversary of Moz­art's birth as well as the 30th an­niversary of her own pub­lic de­but.

This par­tic­u­lar trib­ute to the com­poser that Anne-Soph­ie Mut­ter grew up with and whose works have al­ways formed an in­her­ent part at every junc­ture of her ca­reer, show Moz­art stead­ily eman­cip­at­ing the vi­ol­in from its sub­ser­vi­ent 18th cen­tury role as an ac­com­pa­ny­ing in­stru­ment.

This live video re­cord­ing doc­u­ments Anne-Soph­ie Mut­ter's most am­bi­tious and de­mand­ing en­deav­our to per­form 15 vi­ol­in son­atas to­geth­er with Lam­bert Or­kis on the pi­ano dur­ing three even­ings in the Phil­har­monie, Mu­nich.
W. A. Moz­art: Vi­ol­in Son­atas
K. 305 in A ma­jor
K. 303 in C ma­jor
K. 380 in E flat ma­jor
K. 301 in G ma­jor
K. 378 in B flat
K. 296 in C ma­jor
K. 377 in F ma­jor
K. 306 in D ma­jor
K. 302 in E flat ma­jor
K. 526 in A ma­jor
K. 376 in F ma­jor
K. 481 in E flat ma­jor
K. 379 in G ma­jor
K. 304 in E minor
K. 454 in B flat
"... in­stru­ment­al verve, em­in­ent vari­ety of sound col­our­ing ... but also an im­mense feel­ing for the mel­an­chol­ic con­cep­tion­al depth ... the most am­bi­tious and most ex­act­ing part of Anne-Soph­ie Mut­ter's Moz­art Pro­ject ... im­press­ive con­cen­tra­tion, mu­sic­al earn­est­ness and in­ter­pret­at­ive vo­li­tion of the great vi­ol­in­ist ... jus­ti­fi­ably deeply moved, grate­ful ap­plause!" - con­cert re­view by H. Eggebrecht, Süddeutsche Zei­tung, 25/02/2006